RESOLUTION No. 17

Recognition of the Peste des Petits Ruminants Status of Members

CONSIDERING THAT

- 1. During the 81st General Session, the OIE World Assembly of Delegates (the Assembly) adopted Resolution No. 29, which amended the chapter of the *Terrestrial Animal Health Code* (*Terrestrial Code*) on peste des petits ruminants (PPR). These standards provide a pathway for Members or zones to be recognised by the OIE as free from PPR,
- 2. Through the Adapted Procedure 2020, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 15, which specified and updated the procedure for Members to follow to achieve official recognition and maintenance of status for certain animal diseases, including PPR,
- 3. Through the Adapted Procedure 2020, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 16 which specified and updated the financial implications for Members applying for evaluation of official recognition of animal health status to meet part of the costs defrayed by the OIE in the evaluation process,
- 4. During the 79th General Session, the Assembly noted that an explanatory document outlining the standard operating procedures for official animal health status evaluations had been compiled by the OIE Headquarters for the benefit of Members,
- 5. During the 85th General Session, the Assembly noted a complete revision of the standard operating procedures providing further details on the process of official status recognition. The document has been published on the OIE website,
- 6. During the 86th General Session, the Assembly noted an explanatory document outlining the standard operating procedure for official recognition of animal health status of non-contiguous territories as part of a Member already having an OIE official animal health status. The document has been published on the OIE website,
- 7. Information published by the OIE is derived from declarations made by the OIE Delegates of Members. The OIE is not responsible for publication and maintenance of Members' or zonal animal health status based on inaccurate information or untimely reporting to the OIE Headquarters of changes in epidemiological status or other significant events subsequent to the time of declaration of freedom from PPR,

THE ASSEMBLY

RESOLVES THAT

1. The Director General publish the following List of Members recognised as PPR free according to the provisions of Chapter 14.7. of the *Terrestrial Code*:

Argentina Australia Austria Belgium Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Canada Chile Chinese Taipei Colombia Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic	Denmark Ecuador Estonia Eswatini Finland ¹ France ² Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Korea (Rep. of) Latvia Lesotho	Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Madagascar Malta Mauritius Mexico New Caledonia New Zealand North Macedonia (Rep. of) Norway Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland	Portugal ³ Romania Russia Singapore Slovakia Slovenia South Africa Spain ⁴ Sweden Switzerland The Netherlands United Kingdom ⁵ United States of America ⁶ Uruguay
---	---	--	--

- 2. The Director General publish the following List of Members having a PPR free zone⁷ according to the provisions of Chapter 14.7. of the *Terrestrial Code*:
 - Namibia: one zone located south of the Veterinary Cordon Fence, designated by the Delegate of Namibia in a document addressed to the Director General in November 2014.

AND

3. The Delegates of these Members shall immediately notify the OIE Headquarters if PPR occurs in their countries or free zone within their territories.

(Adopted by the World Assembly of Delegates of the OIE on 24 May 2022 in view of an entry into force on 27 May 2022)

¹ Including Åland Islands.

² Including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Réunion, Saint Barthélémy, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon.

³ Including Azores and Madeira.

⁴ Including Balearic Islands and Canary Islands.

⁵ Including Cayman Islands, Guernsey (incl. Alderney and Sark), Isle of Man, Jersey, Saint Helena and Falkland Islands (Malvinas). (A dispute exists between the Government of Argentina and the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) [see resolution 2065 (XX) of the General Assembly of the United Nations]).

⁶ Including American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands.

⁷ For detailed information on the delimitation of the zone of the Member recognised as PPR free, enquiries should be addressed to the Director General of the OIE.