RESOLUTION No. 24

Recognition of the African Horse Sickness Status of Members

CONSIDERING THAT

- During the 80th General Session, the World Assembly of Delegates (the Assembly) adopted Resolution No. 19, which amended the chapter of the *Terrestrial Animal Health Code* (*Terrestrial Code*) on African horse sickness (AHS). These standards provide a pathway for Members or zones to be recognised by WOAH as free from AHS,
- 2. Through the Adapted Procedure 2020, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 15, which specified and updated the procedure for Members to follow to achieve official recognition and maintenance of status for certain animal diseases, including AHS,
- 3. Through the Adapted Procedure 2020, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 16, which specified and updated the financial implications for Members applying for evaluation of official recognition of animal health status to meet part of the costs defrayed by WOAH in the evaluation process,
- 4. During the 79th General Session, the Assembly noted that an explanatory document outlining the standard operating procedures for official animal health status evaluations had been compiled by WOAH Headquarters for the benefit of Members,
- 5. During the 85th General Session, the Assembly noted a complete revision of the standard operating procedures providing further details on the process of official status recognition. The document has been published on the WOAH website,
- 6. During the 86th General Session, the Assembly noted an explanatory document outlining the standard operating procedure for official recognition of animal health status of non-contiguous territories as part of a Member already having an official animal health status. The document has been published on the WOAH website,
- 7. Information published by WOAH is derived from declarations made by the Delegates of Members. WOAH is not responsible for the publication and maintenance of Members' or zonal animal health status based on inaccurate information or untimely reporting to WOAH Headquarters of changes in epidemiological status or other significant events subsequent to the time of declaration of freedom from AHS,

THE ASSEMBLY

RESOLVES THAT

1. The Director General publish the following List of Members recognised as AHS-free according to the provisions of Chapter 12.1. of the *Terrestrial Code*:

Algeria Andorra Argentina Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahrain Belgium Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Brazil Bulgaria Canada Chile China (People's Rep. of) ¹ Chinese Taipei Colombia Croatia	Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Ecuador Egypt Estonia Finland ² France ³ Germany Greece Hungary Iceland India Ireland Italy Japan Kazakhstan Korea (Rep. of)	Kuwait Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Malaysia Mexico Morocco New Caledonia New Zealand North Macedonia (Rep. of) Norway Oman Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland	Portugal ⁴ Qatar Romania Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Spain ⁵ Sweden Switzerland Thailand The Netherlands Tunisia Türkiye (Rep. of) United Arab Emirates United Kingdom ⁶ United States of America ⁷ Uruguay
---	---	--	---

AND

2. The Delegates of these Members shall immediately notify WOAH Headquarters if AHS occurs in their countries or their territories.

(Adopted by the World Assembly of Delegates on 30 May 2024 in view of an entry into force on 31 May 2024)

¹ Including Hong Kong and Macau.

² Including Åland Islands.

³ Including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion, Saint Barthélémy, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon.

⁴ Including Azores and Madeira.

⁵ Including Balearic Islands and Canary Islands.

⁶ Including Cayman Islands, Guernsey (incl. Alderney and Sark), Isle of Man, Jersey, Saint Helena and Falkland Islands (Malvinas). (A dispute exists between the Government of Argentina and the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) [see resolution 2065 (XX) of the General Assembly of the United Nations]).

⁷ Including American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands.